New Year, Clean Bench

cleanbench

This state of cleanliness lasted all but an hour. Still, it’s been a few weeks since I really sat down to work here, and it helps to take a look at where everything is and what I was doing and what still needs to be done. Class starts again in a couple weeks and I’d like to say I’m preparing for it, but I’m not . . . yet.

I’d also like to say “It’s 2017 and I’m going to start a business and be a real artist!” but that’s not happening either. I like Making Stuff, but I don’t have the entrepreneurial spirit. I’ve checked out the books, signed up for basic bookkeeping, talked to people who have done it (surprise: they didn’t always find it a positive experience) and have concluded that I’ve screwed around enough. For now, anyway, it’s time to find a full-time job, take care of some things. I’ll keep taking classes, and I’m starting to focus on developing my own designs, but there are no plans. No real ones, anyway. And maybe that’s all right. There are benefits to being a “Sunday painter,” like being able to truly create whatever the hell you want and not having to worry about business, customers, and the market.

In other news: knitting. My husband and I drove down to Memphis for a couple days during the last week of the year and had a great time. Some of the car ride was spent on these:

hotbutteredsole

They were quick and easy and meant to use up the yarn left over from this:

hownowbrownscarf

I suppose I’ll keep up with socks and the like for a while, to use up my stash, which is my only knitting goal for the year.

And finally, I think this might be it for the blog. It’s been fun working through and talking over what I’ve been creating for the past few years, but I think it’s time to go. I don’t know what the next stage will be, but I’m sure . . . of nothing.

Goodbye, and keep creating! I know I will.

images

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting, Uncategorized, yak yak yak

Leave a Reply

