We’re All Anxious Here

This week I’ve been preoccupied with job interviews, business casual shopping, and a new cat situation, so jewelry has been off the table (hmmm, literally) and knitting has been going at a slow pace. I did, however, finally start something I’ve been wanting to do since Stitches Midwest 2013: use my first/favorite sock yarn:

indiansummersox

I have to admit I’m a bit “over” this yarn; it’s a lot busier than I thought it would be. That’s why I’m doing the simplest sock possible. I tried something a bit more fancy and it just . . . ugh . . .

froggedI’ll be sure to try this pattern with a mellower yarn, though.

I’m really liking the toe-up socks, mainly because I don’t have to deal with the tubular cast on. And I’ve gotten better at the figure eight cast on. Somehow I need to work TBL on the top row and not the bottom to keep the stitches from getting twisted. Well, whatever, it looks good.

castonThe markers were for the star toe on the pattern I rejected; not my favorite toe, either.

Last weekend I paused this project to whip up a little something for a potential new friend. A kitty friend. It’s been about six months since old man Mongo shuffled off this mortal coil, and I’ve been feeling the need for another cat. So we went down to a local shelter and picked one out, a two-year-old girl kitty with black fur and big round yellow eyes. She was sweet in the kennel and let me pet her and rub her belly, so naturally I fell in love.

And so this.

intarsiaMade with love and catnip. Lots of catnip.

This is my first intarsia project, a technique I’ve been wanting to give a try. It took some fiddling to get going because the written instructions I had were not that helpful. As it turns out, all you really need to know is that when you change yarns, you twist the old with the new. When you first add a color, the end hangs in front, but after that, all the changing action happens in the back. And it can get a bit fussy, like at the top of the heart where it changes from blue to fuscia to blue to fuscia to blue again–all separate strands.

intarsiaprogressBobbins? We don’t need no stinkin bobbins.

Turns out this isn’t my favorite technique in the world, but it’s good to have in my toolbox of skills.

As for the kitty, well, we brought her home a few days ago and she’s too petrified to play with it. Or eat. Or come out of hiding. She was a feral cat who took some time warming up to the volunteers at the shelter (at which point she did become one of the resident cuddle bugs.) I can’t even show you a picture of her because I literally can’t get one. But . . . it takes time, and I’m doing my homework on anxiety in cats. I think I understand. All this interview business has had me crazy stressed because I’m the shy type too (spent a lot of time this week reviewing my old standby, How to Control Your Anxiety Before Your Anxiety Controls You by Dr. Albert Ellis–highly recommended.)

So . . . we’re both going to survive, no matter what. Our systems just don’t believe it yet.

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting, socks

Leave a Reply

