My Twenty-Two Cents’ Worth

I don’t have much to show for this week, which is not to say I haven’t been busy. I have (don’t laugh) started to watch the DVD that came with my camera, and have been fiddling with settings and menus. I’ve been picking at my Kayleen Pullover, but it still looks much the same, only longer–haven’t gotten to the interesting detail parts yet.  And, most of all, I’ve been playing around with this thing I bought a few months ago and forgot about.

play2

This little device will bore a hole of 1.5mm or 2.0 mm into a piece of metal up to 16 gauge. It’s not bad, and I used it to play around with that dome you see there in the middle. The only drawback is that it can be hard to see exactly where the hole is going to be made, even if you mark it, so if you need a hole to be precise you might want to do it another way. Also, you should always be sure to hold your metal in a pair of pliers or tweezers or something, especially if the edge is even remotely sharp, because your metal can cut you if it turns.

For fun, I used it to put center holes in some coins. It worked.

play3I also flattened the dimes a bit with a hammer before doming them. I may have been a bit too aggressive with both operations.

When I went to dome the new penny, I learned some new things.

play4

(1) Go easy! and (2) Wow, there’s really not much copper on a penny these days, is there?

And the last thing I’ve been working at–unusual stone captures with copper scraps and glass cabochons:

play1

That top one, when soldered, is going to feature one of the discarded “leaves” I made for my mother-in-law’s bracelet a few months ago as a kind of cage for the teardrop shaped cab on the left. I think it will hold securely; whether it actually looks good, I don’t know yet.

The bottom one uses a bit of scrap that discs have been cut from to hold a round cab; I made tab slots in the copper disc for the ends to fit into (though not as nicely as I could have; still, it works.)

So yeah, nothing much to show off, just experiments, which are important in their own way.

Leave a comment

Filed under experiment, practice

Leave a Reply

