Completing the Circle

Well, I said I’d get back to work on jewelry, and so I have.  I’d been avoiding the join part of these beaded crochet bracelets for months, and today I sat down with the instructions and a bit of patience.

That giant magnifying lamp to the right, by the way?  My favorite tool ever.  Eyestrain is not my friend, but this lamp is!  I may crochet a dust cover for the lens in the near future.  Maybe I’ll use the leftover green from my yoda hat, and felt it!

But I digress.  I finished two, and that blue size 8 bead tube in the middle there is going to need some cones and a clasp, as soon as I pick out something good from my stash.

One more thing in the works:  I’ve taken apart the sweater I mentioned last time.  This does seem a shame, as some kid or lady in India or China probably spent hours stitching it and made fifty cents for his/her trouble, but it was truly in unwearable condition.  I started making the crown of the hat just to see how well this yarn works up.  Well, it doesn’t work up very well.  The yarn is, of course, all crinkled up.  It’s also very fine and brittle and the four plies are all at odds with each other.  I’ll probably have to use the stained part eventually, which means maybe I’ll end up dyeing the whole thing with coffee or tea for a nice taupe color. And, since nobody on Ravelry seems crazy enough to make a sun hat with anything but sport or worsted weight yarn, I’m on my own for a pattern.  Eh, I like a challenge.

Other projects on the proverbial backburner (you can ignore this part–it’s more of a note-to-self):

  • tassel necklace with lucky cat focal bead
  • mala bracelets with guru beads (what on earth cord can get through those tiny holes?!)
  • stashbusting blue blanket–find a pattern online
  • Gretel tam from the SnB book
  • finish that neckline on the Tulip Top (that’s a nice, portable knit night project)
  • extend shiny purple beaded crochet spiral (made back in April) into a lariat-style necklace
  • kitty-shaped pillow in taupe and gray stash yarn (use leftover bit of foam inside, too!)
  • Hermione socks with purple yarn from Kristi
Leave a comment

Filed under beads, bracelet, crochet, hat

Leave a Reply

